On the Link … Yeah, Just One

by

The pushing back of the 3-point line – from 19 feet, 9 inches to 20-9 – has had an effect on the college game. What kind of effect and how much? Depends on who you talk to, as I write in my story examining the issue. Had some good leftover quotes about it that didn’t make the story.

• Kentucky coach Billy Gillespie: “I don’t think there’s as many teams shooting it well, but it could be personnel, it could be a number of things.”

• Tennessee coach Bruce Pearl: “I wasn’t in favor of the line moving back. I thought it was pretty good where it was.”

• Auburn coach Jeff Lebo, on good 3-point shooters: “I don’t think it’s a big deal for them. I think there was a short period of time, I think they’ve already adjusted to it. Now, you move it back any further, I think it will become more of an issue.”

I’d love to stick around, but I’ve got much work to do. I’ll check in later with the Blog Bag.

4 Responses to “On the Link … Yeah, Just One”

  1. imabulldog Says:

    i think it was probably a mental thing for about a week in practice, and maybe for the first two games of the year…and then they got used to it.

    I judge some of these coach’s comments by the season the are having

  2. ericintupelo Says:

    Found out why Ravern didn’t light it up in the second half against Georgia. On Scout.com it says Stansbury told him it would be best from a team perspective if he took a different offensive approach so he quit shooting as much

  3. JB Says:

    “The pushing back of the 3-point line – from 19 feet, 9 inches to 20-9 – has had an effect on the college game”. Regardless, where the line is set, an aggessive defensive player/players not allowing the shooter time to get off the shot.

  4. buzzardroostus Says:

    It’s probably a good change. Doesn’t make sense for it to be the same as high school as it was before. Yet it’s still not as far as the NBA.

Leave a Reply

