Football, Basketball and Snowballs

by

I’m shaking the snow off my shoulders here in Lexington. It was an uneventful flight, though of course I did get lost between the airport and my hotel. In doing so, however, I got to see that huge castle some dude built for his wife, who later left him.

Anyway, in today’s Journal I had a big piece on the football recruiting process and how Web sites like Rivals.com and Scout.com figure into it and feed fans’ obsession. Actually, I had two stories:

Battling Web sites fuel fans’ fire all year long

Star wars: Homework plus some guesswork

National Signing Day is tomorrow, and Mississippi State is poised to pull in a top-20 class. I’ll have more on that in the Wednesday Journal, and I’ll be back in Starkville for full Signing Day coverage, assuming I’m not snowed in here.

And the reason I’m in Lexington, of course, is for tonight’s basketball game between Mississippi State and Kentucky (6 p.m., Raycom). The Bulldogs (14-7, 4-2 SEC) are looking to bounce back from a 67-63 loss to Ole Miss, while the Wildcats (16-6, 5-2) are steaming after back-to-back losses to the Rebels and South Carolina. Tonight’s game presents more than one challenge for MSU, the greatest being slowing down Jodie Meeks, who leads the SEC with 25.5 ppg.

In last year’s game, an MSU win in Starkville, Jarvis Varnado tied a school record with 10 blocks. UK, however, won’t be intimidated, according to a Herald-Leader story. And maybe the Wildcats shouldn’t be: Though he still leads the nation in blocks (4.67 per game), Varnado has had only 11 blocks over the last five games, including one against Ole Miss. Kentucky has good size inside, with Patrick Patterson and Perry Stevenson, who like Varnado are both 6-foot-9.

Now, I must go forage for lunch.

5 Responses to “Football, Basketball and Snowballs”

  1. imabulldog Says:

    Nice castle…Man, I hope we play good tonight. We need a Arkansas type game again BAD

  2. imabulldog Says:

    Oh yeah, and as far as the Scouts and Rivals stuff…My wallet and I can’t thank you guys enough for all the info you leak on here. THANKS!!!

  3. maroon1white Says:

    BL, love the article especially the section with my quote & name. Keep up the good work.

    ima, sharing is caring 😀

    Go State!

  4. The Kid Says:

    we (UK) are playing like p****** right now, and I am scared to death of this game. if you all beat us again, look for all hell to break loose on our site again tonight, ROCKtheWristband.wordpress.com

  5. Brad Locke Says:

    Thanks, m1w, for your help.

Leave a Reply

