Dan Mullen Highlights

by

Some quotable quotes from Dan Mullen on his 2009 signing class:

• “There’s a lot of guys on this list right now that have flexibility, and they’re real solid football players.”

• On the seven WRs: “Getting Leon Berry at mid-semester, already here practicing with us, was a huge step in the right direction. And then the other guys, we’re going to need them to come in and make a pretty immediate impact for us.”

• “I didn’t sleep a whole lot last night, get paranoid about 2 o’clock in the morning thinking, ‘Boy, we’ve covered that angle. Montrell Conner’s told me he’s coming, he’s good to go.’”

• On the 2010 class: “We started making a push today for next year’s class, talking to the top players before I let our coaches get out of here.”

• On Meridian QB Tyler Russell: “To play immediately, I have no idea. We’re going to find that out in the fall when he gets here. … Throwing and running is probably the least important part of what they do when you recruit a quarterback. The mental, physical toughness, the leadership, intelligence, decision-making – those are the important things to look for in recruiting a quarterback. With Tyler, winning a state championship showed he had those things.”

• “I think coaches try to give themselves too much credit. Go recruit great football players, and then have the ability to fit the system to those football players. Tyler Russell’s a perfect example of that. We’re going to fit the offense around his talents, just like I have every quarterback that I’ve ever recruited.”

14 Responses to “Dan Mullen Highlights”

  1. maroon1white Says:

    He’s got the blue print just a matter of time from here.

    Great days ahead of us.

    Go State!

  2. midnightdawg Says:

    love the class!! great day to be a bulldog! I haven’t pumped the keg latley, but am excited. I’m also waiting with optemistic anticipation of how Mullen and staff will coach these guys, the ones already wearing maroon and white +the newbies. I’m anxious to see how many of these classes we can string together in a row (with a cresendo I hope). I’m happy, just have a wait and see approach as to how Mullen and staff can coach and pull it all together.

  3. imabulldog Says:

    Sounds to me like Russell will play this yr…if you ask me

  4. maroon1white Says:

    Seems Orgeron is up to his old tricks again. A local sports talk radio show up here, in Memphis, interviewed Marlon Brown today after he committed to Georgia. They interviewed him asking him what made him not decide on Tenn. He couldn’t say what Orgeron said to him and his family on the air, but he did say that b/c of Orgeron he chose Georgia. He actually said that what Orgeron said offended his family so much Tenn was immediately out of the running. Losing one of the top recruits in the nation in one conversation can’t work well for big Ed’s career.

  5. mathistondawg Says:

    I gotta give Croom some credit. He started this class out right. Had soome big names headed our way even with such a terrible season. Having Dan come in, keep those players and add some additional big names makes this class one of the most exciting ever.

  6. bigcowbell Says:

    Like it matters, but I noticed the ESPN U has us ranked just outside of the top 25 recruiting. What happened?

  7. imabulldog Says:

    they are biased bigcowbell, if you haven’t noticed, its their usual top 25…

    Did what Orgeron had to say sound anything like “yar yah wooohoo yar yah yah yara yare FOOTBALL!”

  8. benzadawgfan Says:

    Don’t they rank the classes by adding the stars for each player in the class? OM should have the #1 class signing 37! My thought is that the only ranking that matters is coach Mullen’s. He knows the puzzle he’s workin’ on and what pieces he needs. If the guys who rank the kids were so smart, they’d be evaluating talent for the NFL…. and those guys can’t even get em all right. The numbers are always consistent, and I like seeing all of those 4.4 and 4.5 d-line to d- back & receiver. That gives me the Chris Matthews tingle! GO DAWGS

  9. RoastBeef1 Says:

    Orgeron’s probably still talking about Shayfuh

  10. bigdraws Says:

    Went to Romies last night. Hudspeth has all the intensity that Mullen does. Young and entergetic. Really got the crowds attention. I think these guys will be great before it’s all said and done. And I don’t think it’ll take 5 years.

  11. gulfwaterdawg Says:

    Very good first recruiting class for Mullen. In response to the comment about rankings, ESPN rankings are biased in that they do not figure in JuCo transfers. We got 3 very good ones. Our rankings range from 17th to 27th depending on how each recruiting site rates each player.
    On a side note, I predict we will be in a bowl game next year.

  12. buzzardroostus Says:

    Would have loved to have gone to the Chili House in Meridian last night, but you had to be invited to come. That’s very disappointing. I’m sure if Mullen finds out about that he might have some problems with whoever organized the Meridian gathering. I was wondering you had to be invited to all of them? I was under the impression that you just had to pay an admission. I’m hoping that whoever planned the Chili House gathering are the only ones that acted like Ole Miss fans yesterday. I know the Chili House is small and can probably only hold about 100 people. But, with all the hype that’s been created, especially here in Meridian, they needed to make the event available to more people in a larger venue. Someone made a huge mistake in publicity for MSU and promotion. I’m sure alumni of Meridian probably were in charge. Much, much different from the alumni association I dealt with in Ft. Worth, Texas. I guess next year I’ll have to drive to Starkville if I want to show support for my team.

  13. bigdraws Says:

    Romies let whoever wanted to come in. Saw some familiar faces, ate some great food, and got to meet the new guy. $15 got me in with no invitation.

  14. buzzardroostus Says:

    Thanks draws. That’s good news. I don’t know what the problem is with the folks in Meridian.

Leave a Reply

