Hoops: Auburn 91, MSU 76

by

Auburn got hot from 3-point range and never cooled off. The Tigers hit 13 of 27 from downtown, with Tay Waller making 8 of 12 en route to a career high 32 points. He also had nine rebounds. MSU was 10 of 35 and ran out of gas after erasing a 17-point first-half deficit. Jarvis Varnado led MSU (16-9, 6-4 SEC) with 20 points, five rebounds and four blocks. Barry Stewart had 18 points, Dee Bost 13 and Ravern Johnson 11. Auburn (16-9, 5-5) has won three straight; MSU has dropped two in a row.

Quotes, starting with MSU coach Rick Stansbury:

• On Waller’s 3-point shooting: “I don’t know if any of them were open, easy shots. Give him some credit, and give Auburn credit. You can talk about our bad defense, but give him credit.”

• On the effect of Wednesday’s LSU loss: “I’m not going to sit here and say there’s no effect, but I’m not going to make any excuses for it.”

Stewart:

• On the comeback: “We made a run there early in the second half, and I think we were feeling pretty good, and we knocked down some big shots. I think it took a little bit out of the team tonight.”

Auburn coach Jeff Lebo:

• On Waller: “He’s certainly capable of doing this. I saw this in juco. When he scores a lot and plays well, it’s like energy to our team.”

Waller:

• “I just felt good today. In the shootaround I was very loose for some reason, and it just carried with me into the game.”

Auburn’s Korvotney Barber, on Varnado:

• “He looked kind of skinny, but he’s not weak at all. I think I did a pretty good job on him.”

Leave a Reply

