More MSU-UW Links

by

Yours truly is currently sitting in Dallas/Forth Worth International, trying to get the most out of the $5.99 I just charged the Daily Journal for Internet access. I just filed a story for tomorrow’s paper focusing on the matchup between Mississippi State’s Jarvis Varnado and Washington big man Jon Brockman, who’s a two-time All-Pac-10 first-teamer. There are many interesting matchups to watch in this game, and this is a pretty good breakdown.

Now, a question: If MSU beats Washington, how big an upset is it? A couple of CBSSports guys don’t see it happening, and Seth Davis of SI.com does not forecast this as one of his upset specials. So will anyone give the Bulldogs some love? Here we go: FoxSports.com compiled a list of players who could be “This Year’s Stephen Curry,” a player who could take his team on an unexpected run, and one of those 10 is Varnado himself.

And here’s a blog you need to follow, Bob Condotta of the Seattle Times.

By the way, the Big Dance has already started, with Morehead State battling Alabama State in the play-in game (oops, not supposed to call it that). Now, I go in search of supper and will check back with y’all in the morning.

16 Responses to “More MSU-UW Links”

  1. imabulldog Says:

    I hope we beat em by 30! That’ll shut all those freakin yankies up

  2. dc31 Says:

    Footage of UW against Florida out on YouTube, the last 6 minutes of game. They don’t impress me. Brockman is slow, Jarvis might have 15 blocks. Don’t think mighty mouse will be able to skip through the lane on us either. A lot of other people block shots on our team besides Varnado. think that goes unnoticed

  3. dc31 Says:

    Wow, Kentucky can’t even play in Rupp Arena. That’s a loud and clear message to Billy Gillespie. They are in Memorial Coliseum

    Unhappy Big Blue Nation

  4. warbirdz44 Says:

    It has nothing to do with that dc. They are in Memorial because there is a pre-scheduled high school tournament that couldn’t be moved on such short notice.

  5. dc31 Says:

    I know dude, I was just joking

  6. bigdraws Says:

    I was reading a UW blog earlier today. They think Brockman is going to destroy Varnardo. He might get his points but I doubt he’ll do any destroying of anyone. I think we’ve got a fair chance of winning. I don’t know if we will or not but it sure as hell wouldn’t surprise me.

  7. mathistondawg Says:

    I believe in this team. I think we got a good draw. Get past washington and purdue is a probable win for us. Did anyone watch their game sunday? They were awful. I think we have a better shot at a sweet 16 berth than in several earlier attempts.

  8. mathistondawg Says:

    I want another shot at memphis – bad.

  9. imabulldog Says:

    So do I Mathis, but I have Mizzou knockin em out

  10. darkcooger Says:

    @mathiston: Don’t be too quick to judge Purdue on that one game. I saw it too and was not impressed, but they may have just had an off game. Several UW fans have been bashing our Dawgs for their performance in the UT game – be honest, that certainly wasn’t our best, either.

    Agreed, though. I’d love another chance at Memphis. And everyone else in the top 5. Get ’em Dawgs!

  11. goldendawg Says:

    I freaked out this morning because I checked the CBS listings for Thursday at 4 central and Oprah is going to be on! Like I need to another reason to dislike Oprah. Fortunately, I have some sports affiliate of CBS that is going to carry the game. Not HD though.
    Anyways, I believe that our dawgs can pull it off tomorrow. But if not, this season has already been a success.
    Go Dawgs!

  12. bigdraws Says:

    Isn’t Oprah on NBC? I hate I even know that.

  13. guitargeekrich Says:

    Condotta sure took a lot of cheap shots, not only at MSU but Mississippi as well… I’m glad to see that you’ve taken the high road Brad. That being said, I hope Varnado shuts up all those Husky fans who keep saying Brockman is gonna eat him alive. It’s not like JV’s never played a game against someone who weighs more than him. Should be a good game, the teams seem pretty evenly matched. I hope we keep bringing the intensity like we have these past 6 games. Go State!

  14. Brad Locke Says:

    Yeah, his link to Mississippi’s “second-favorite” Web site was a head-scratcher. I couldn’t believe a professional writer did something like that. Guess he was just trying to be funny. Epic humor FAIL.

  15. bigdraws Says:

    Their big mouths are getting tired real quick. I hope we just go up there, keep our minds in the right place and mouths shut, and beat the $@@& out of their candy asses.

  16. maxdawg Says:

    I think #33 for Tennessee has got to weigh at least 280 or 290!!
    One of my favorite moments of the game is when 33 for TU met Varnado at the rim to slam it and he bent down waiting on JV to jump but he didn’t, the State fans really let him have it. Then I think He still got blocked.

Leave a Reply

