Varnado Dissed, Twice Over

by

I ran across a Seth Davis article on SI.com today that mentioned Mississippi State center Jarvis Varnado, and I wondered why my Google alert hadn’t caught it. Ah, yes, because his named was misspelled “Varnardo.” Dis No. 1. Then, an anonymous NBA scout was quoted thusly about “Varnardo’s” pro prospects: “I’m not a huge fan. He still gets killed inside. He’s great on the weak side, but he can’t guard on the ball because he gets pushed around too much. Somebody will probably take him in the second round…” Dis No. 2.

I’m no expert evaluator of basketball talent, so I won’t offer any sort of opinion. I don’t expect Varnado will come out this year anyway, so he’s got another year to impress the skeptics.

On a personal note, I feel rather awkward using the term “dis.” Not a word journalists use often.

10 Responses to “Varnado Dissed, Twice Over”

  1. imabulldog Says:

    Let me say this, he is a great shot blocker, but he does get pushed around down low at times. You put him up against a big guy, and he is more than likely gonna get backed down.

    I’ve noticed that he is much better a blocking shots in the heat of a play, when things get messy, and when the lane gets congested. But when someone backs him down and gets physical with him-they are usually gonna get the shot off.

    If that’s what the guys saying-then I have to agree to an extent, but he doesn’t get KILLED down low or anything.

    My only problem, and don’t correct me-‘because I’m not talking about plays where contact is an issue’, but plays where some little point guard just drives beside him and throws up a lay up. He already has the distance in between him and the shooter-there’s no chance of a foul being called-so why doesn’t he even JUMP and try and block some of those shots. Like I said, he’s have 3 more blocks a night if he did this. I don’t care if he draws a goal-tending on one of those 3- just knock that junk in the seats.

    All that said, SWAT is huge for us, and probably the heart of our team

  2. imabulldog Says:

    meant he could have 3 more blocks a night-sorry

  3. imabulldog Says:

    And I stay away from anything that is even related to CNN

  4. darkcooger Says:

    I understand that JV has tried to put on some weight but can’t do it. Just imagine if he was 30 or 40 pounds more body down there. Wow. He wouldn’t get pushed around by anybody anywhere.

    Even with his relatively small body, he’s still amazing to watch. I’ve been paying attention to when he goes up after shots since that article you wrote Brad, and I can see it. He doesn’t leave the ground until it’s time to chase the shot. They rarely fool him. His presence of mind is great.

    He also seems to be the least easily-rattled on our team, and we really need that kind of stability. I hate to think of where we’d be right now without him. Let ’em hate all they want; the Bulldog fans love him.

  5. imabulldog Says:

    Guess you could use the word ”frontin”

  6. lollipopkid Says:

    Jarvis is a more than capable college player. But that scout isn’t talking about going up against 6’7″ Wayne Chism. He’s talking about going up against grown men like Duncan, Howard, Stoudemire, Aldridge, etc. I’d say he’s spot on. However, if Jarvis continues to improve (just think of how far he’s come since he first got on campus) the sky is the limit for him. He’s got the natural skills, he just needs someone to build him up physically. Some NBA team will take a chance on him and put him on some ridiculous training regimen and get a solid player out of it. I’m just happy to get to watch him for the rest of this season (however long it is) and next.

  7. s084swd Says:

    If it’s true that Varnado has tried to get bigger and stronger but can’t, I’m not sure I understand what the problem is. With the nutrition etc. available, you’d think anyone who really wanted or needed to could. Varnardo’s pretty good as he is, but would probably be better if he could put on a good 15 or 20 more pounds.

  8. darkcooger Says:

    Some people have trouble putting on weight because their metabolism is insane. What I’ve heard of Varnado, though, is that he has a minuscule appetite and just doesn’t eat very much, which would certainly make it difficult to put on any kind of mass. 😛

  9. imabulldog Says:

    get that boy to the Union and get him some grub!

    BTW, Cocks up 14

  10. maxdawg Says:

    Do we need to get the NINJA on our strength and conditioning coach?

Leave a comment