Hey, look who’s going to be on ESPNews

by

Yep. Sylvester Croom

As part of the SEC’s Media Day event, Croom will appear live on ESPNews: HotList at 2:10 p.m. on Wednesday.

In addition, Joe Galbraith of the MSU media relations office tells me Croom’s alloted time in Hoover will also be aired on an on-demand basis to Maroon to the Max subscribers Wednesday night.

I guess it will be Croom, Croom, everywhere Croom.

Hey, it’s football.

52 Responses to “Hey, look who’s going to be on ESPNews”

  1. thingreenline Says:

    ESPN loves em some Croom!

  2. thespear Says:

    Every year, Croom is progressing to be the face of Miss State football! And that is just what we need to put Starkville back on the map!

  3. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    First chance to jump in today. I’m blad to see Coach Croom finally starting to get some wide spread love from just the State fans. I remember way back when GG was blogging from the DJ and it seemed like every week I was the one of a very few defending Coach and that has seemed to change.

  4. carwwest Says:

    im not 100% sold on croom just bout 97%…..sorry but this is the year i’ll make my decision…..if we struggle again on offense, he will have to fire woody mccorvey!!….im only about 3% sold on him….and dont give me that crap about the QB situation because carroll showed he could at least attempt to move the ball…..its just mccorvey’s playcalling thats the problem….if that happens and we once again find ourselves ranked >100, and he keeps mccorvey, im going to have my doubts about croom…..

  5. bigdraws Says:

    Carwwest is right. If he flops this year it’ll be back to the croom bashing.

  6. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I’m just saying that a couple years ago everybody was busting his balls. Now a majority of folks seem to have a little faith in what he is trying to do. Not so much of all the Jackie did, and Jackie got better atheletes. I’m not pleased with the “O” either, and it needs to produce this season or a change needs to be made, I believe that myself.

  7. dc31 Says:

    A prediction on Jerell Powe, even if they do get him, he’s a whopping 385 pounds. He can’t be the same player that he was coming out of high school. The guy is about 4 years removed from high school. That just goes to show that they will take anybody. At any rate, I expect to see his fat butt knocked all over the field. Powe won’t matter. He never did

  8. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    Didn’t know much about the Powe kid coming out of HS, but I do know that football is not a game that you can take off three years and come back and be just as effective. I got a feeling he’ll be a space eater, tough against the run, and show flashes of what might have been.

  9. warbirdz44 Says:

    Charles Rhodes slammed one on Jamont Gordon today in the summer league.

    Pretty coll pic:

    http://www.nba.com/jazz/Revue/rmr2008_day4_dalgsw.html

  10. bigdraws Says:

    That’s priceless warbirdz. Thanks for the pic.

  11. warbirdz44 Says:

    I’ll post the video on here when I can find it.

  12. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    My!My!My! looks like young Powe has the attention of those panicky house dawgs.

  13. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I think you have it twisted JB. I don’t think I said that I was concerned, and it doesn’t look like dc31 said he was either.

  14. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Chris – dc31 – let me untwist – but, beware of young Powe will wake up those lazy house Dawgs.

  15. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Remember Bubby Smith? How he would grab the whole offensive backfield during a play – toss each one out until he found the one with the football. Could be Young Powe might do the same.

  16. carwwest Says:

    chris, dont get me wrong, i do believe in what croom is “trying” to do but i just dont think mccorvey has what it takes….people judge you by the company you keep and if mccorvey continues to suck then croom will be looked at different than he does now…….powe will not be a huge factor, i dont care how big or how talented he is…..he is new to the sec and has been out of football for a while….dont expect much……

  17. imabulldog Says:

    Before my last game, when I worked with the team, Egg Bowl-Crooms first year, I walked up to him, he put his arm on my shoulder and I said “coach, no matter how long it takes, you are the man for the job.”

    I’ve never said anything different towards him, but I do feel that if McCorvey doesn’t produce this year-we need a new OC.

    I think some of you guys need to get on board. He is the real deal, whether we go 10-2 or 7-5, he’s the man for the job.

    Either way, when he retires one day- we’ll all be able to recognize the mark he left on our program, and all these mountains most complained about climbing- will be forgotten.

  18. imabulldog Says:

    And as for Powe

    JB, we could care less about that Fat boy. I have a feeling his playing time will be very limited- due to his lack of smarts, I think all he can understand is “go get the Qb.”

    Even then he might end up at Dairy Queen

  19. farley662 Says:

    I’m still about 50/50 on him. He hasn’t proved he can beat teams, he proved we could out luck people last year.

  20. thingreenline Says:

    Powe won’t even be a factor if he does get to play. Do you honestly think he’s been doing conditioning drills? He’s a joke.

  21. bigdraws Says:

    Just saw JJ Johnsons kid committed to Bama. Ouch!!

  22. Braves Dawg Says:

    JB, the only people Powe has panicking are the the buffet and janitorial staff at Ryan’s.

  23. tebmsu97 Says:

    I am still not sure what to think about McCorvey. I don’t know if our play calling was that bad or not, there were too many times our offense was simply getting whipped by the other team. You can’t not take the QB situation into account, combine the QB injuries with a typically overmatched talent pool and you end up with some of the worst offensive production in the league.

    If we make it through the year with WC healthy and we still are in the bottom 20 teams in the country, the blame will fall solidly on McCorvey and I think Croom’s hand will be forced into a direction he doesn’t want to go.

  24. tebmsu97 Says:

    And on the Powe thing. I don’t think that fella is going to amount to much this long removed from playing football. I could very well be wrong, but most highschool studs have a hard time making that move without taking 5 years to get their academics caught up.

  25. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I’m not disagreeing about the offense guys. If we have a healthy offense we should be productive. But the talent hasn’t been there on offense either. The receiving corp has been in desperate need of some ball catching consistency and big play ability. And if we get it and still can’t produce I to would want to see another guy get a shot at the OC job.

  26. db33 Says:

    Gregg,

    I have to ask – On the day that MSU takes the stage, the front page of the DJ has a big ol’ pic of NUTT? And, the headline article is about LSU & FLA? Barely even a mention of MSU other than Croom & co. are in the first group?

  27. bigdraws Says:

    db, I thought the same exact thing. Why not give Nut is day tomorrow?

  28. theconquistador2 Says:

    Nutt will have his day again tomorrow.

  29. warbirdz44 Says:

    HAHA Braves Dawg, post of the day!

  30. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Tomorrow is Croom’s day, not Nutt’s. Croom will be all over our paper tomorrow.

    This is Nutt’s first media day as Ole Miss coach, and he is one of the biggest stories due to the fact he’s going from Arky to Ole Miss.

    Now if Nutt is the featured art tomorrow, then I’d have a problem.

  31. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Guys, let’s be careful in comments on Powe or any other player for that matter. I’d rather not see this blog turn into name calling. Not a single person on here knows him personally and to call him dumb, fat or anything else may be a tad bit over the line.

    I saw how damaging this was for the Garrett family and I don’t want to see this repeated. Thanks.

  32. bigdraws Says:

    PA1 is that you???

  33. Braves Dawg Says:

    LMAO!

  34. warbirdz44 Says:

    *Refrains self from making joke about how we shouldn’t have to worry about Powe reading this blog*

    Ok, it’s out of my system now!

  35. farley662 Says:

    Poor wittle Cwis!

  36. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I thought I was strictly football related with my comments GG.

  37. thingreenline Says:

    The Garretts? Wheaux’s that?

  38. Gregg Ellis Says:

    You were, Chris. I just get a little nervous knowing how lawsuit happy our society is.

  39. thingreenline Says:

    Yeah, I hate to see breach of contract cases. You know, kinda like when a guy committs to do something, then backs out……oh, wait, nevermind. We all know about that kind of stuff.

  40. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Yeah, TGL, I can’t ever imagine someone changing their mind.

  41. bigdraws Says:

    Just like the DJ delivery man changed his mind about bringing me my paper yesterday morning.

  42. Gregg Ellis Says:

    You must have the same delivery guy I have.

  43. bigdraws Says:

    Don’t know. Heard the paper hit the driveway about 3:30am this morning, while I was raiding the fridge. Looked like a white Saturn or something. Course I was half awake, so there’s no telling.

  44. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Dang, now that’s an early snack.

  45. bigdraws Says:

    Nah, just killed some kool-aid and went back to bed.

  46. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Man, if I did that, I would have never gone back to sleep.

  47. Braves Dawg Says:

    My chest would have melted from the heartburn.

  48. bigdraws Says:

    Had to wake up at 5am anyways. Went right back to sleep for a little while. Heartburn from kool-aid Braves? Watch out for those saltine crackers too. They’re brutal.

  49. Braves Dawg Says:

    Heck yeah! Every time I drink it before bed, it’s like the Kool-Aid man himself is trying to bust out of my chest and say “Hey Kool-Aid”!

  50. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Is it maroon-flavored kook-aid. LOL!

  51. Braves Dawg Says:

    It’s Red & Blue, that’s why it gives me such dreadful heartburn! 😀

    Good one GG!

  52. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Braves, you are on a roll today.

Leave a comment